MINUTES

Annual General Meeting 2019 Held at CTCRM on 8th May 2019 at 1735

1. Remembrance

One minute silence in memory of members who have crossed the bar since the last AGM

Lt Tony Brewster RN

Lt Cdr Gerald Newton RN

Capt. Richard Hill RNR

Lt Cdr Derek Prior RN

Lt Cdr (SCC) Andy Quick BEM RNR

2. Attendance and Apologies for absence:

a) Attendance (for all or just part of the AGM)

Lt Col Rick Andrews Lt Col (RM) AAC, Capt Angus Arherton RM, Lt Cdr Rodney Battey (I) (RD) RNR, Capt Ian Brannam RN, Lt Cdr Nigel Broadhurst RN, Baron Charles Burnell-Nugent, Cdre Michael Clapp CB RN, Cdr Chris Chris Cole RN, Lt David Collier (SCC) RNR, Capt Michael Croxford RN, Lt Cdr, The Reverand John Davies RN, Cdr Rob Dean RN, 2/O Dita Dixon WRNS, Cdr (CCF)David Elkington OBE RNR, Lt Cdr Nicko Franks RN, 2nd Lt Robin Geldard CBE RM, Capt Sandy Gordon MN, Group Captain Keith Harding OBE, 3/O Cathy Harris WRNS, Maj Ralph Howard-Williams RM, Cdr Rory Jackson RN, Col Christopher Langton OBE, Cdr David Lingard RN, Capt James Luard RN, Lt Cdr Paul Marshall RN, Cdr Rory McNeile RN, Maj Julian Perry RAMC, Lt Cdr David Scott RN, Lt Chris Seaton RNR, Capt Alexander Scougall RN, Lt Martin Sowman RNR, Rear Admiral Chris Snow CBE DL Cdr Trevor Waddington OBE RN, Surgeon Cdr Mike Wilson RD RNR, Mr Ian Yule

b) Apologies:

Lt Graham O'Riordan RN, Surg Cdre Robert Harland RN, Mr John Winterbottom, Cdr Michael Chamberlain RN, Lt Col Peter Cameron, Captain Neil Blair RN, Lt Col Christopher D'Oyly, Lt Michael Rose RN, Lt Glenn Turpin RN Lt Cdr Paul Taylor RD RNR. Cdr Richard Coupe OBE RN, Lt Cdr Tony Griffin RD RNR and Lt Col Paul Musgrove

The Chairman admired the wanderlust shown by Flotilla Members. Apologists were in New Zealand, Madeira, Italy and Portugal.

3. Minutes

a. The meeting had reviewed the on line Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 8th May 2018, which were accepted unanimously and signed.

4. Accounts

The Certified Balance Sheet for the year ending 31 March 2019 had been published on line and showed we were living beyond our means. The Chairman explained the situation – an increase in costs but a static income and asked the AGM to agree an increase in the annual subscription, a possible change to the lecture evening meal charge, once the way ahead was clear, and to accept that future events, apart from the Trafalgar Day service should be charged to reflect the costs, until the Committee decided they could help support these relatively expensive events.

This was all accepted unanimously.

A vote of thanks to our auditor, retired Banker, Mr Adrian Ford was recorded.

Finally, the Chairman advised Members that he and the Treasurer were in discussion with HMRC on claiming Gift Aid from our Annual Subscription income. Responses were not anticipated rapidly.

Lt Cdr Nigel Broadhurst asked how many guests were paid for at the

Trafalgar Day Service, and at what cost? Cdr Trevor Waddington replied that from memory, there were half a dozen guests at £25 a head.

5. Chairman's Report

Similarly, the Chairman had presented his annual report on line. No questions were asked.

6. Election of Flotilla Officers and Committee Members

Flotilla Officers serve for three years and Committee Members for two years; they may then be re-elected.

Captain Angus Atherton had asked to be relieved of his responsibilities as Camp Liaison Officer, and the annual Lunch/Dinner Liaison duties and, in the absence of any other volunteers, Major Ralph Howard-Williams, RM has been co-opted by your Committee.

Similarly, Cdr Trevor Waddington had asked to be relieved as Trafalgar Secretary and a replacement is urgently required, preferably someone living in the Exeter area. Finally, with the recent death of Lt Cdr Andy Quick, we need a new Membership Secretary, preferably someone with a modicum of IT skills and a volunteer would be much better than press gang entrapment.

All other members of the Committee were willing to continue in office with the composition of the whole Committee as follows:

Lecture Secretary: 2/O Dita Dixon WRNS

Sea Cadet Liaison: Cdr Trevor Waddington OBE RN Golf Secretary: Surgeon Cdre Robert Harland RN

Newsletter Secretary: Surgeon Cdr Mike Wilson RD RNR

CTCRM Liaison: Major Ralph Howard-Williams RM

Visits Secretary: Captain Mike Croxford RN

Treasurer: Mr Ian Yule

General Secretary: Captain James Luard RN

This was accepted unanimously.

The meeting closed at 1758 and Members retired to the bar for half an hour, before dining with the Young Officers. This was followed by an excellent Lecture presented by our Patron.

After a wide range of questions on completion of the lecture, the Chairman asked the audience if they were all content that the meal had been adequate. No one complained.